Assorted merchandise on a wire rack, blue shirt, black shirt, posters, socks, glasses, and mugs

Meet the Gordon Parks Award Community Advisory Committee

As the festival grows nearer (just 4 months away!) we’re thrilled to share the Gordon Parks Award Community Advisory Committee, a task force of dedicated community partners assisting in the planning and decision making behind our inaugural Gordon Parks Award for Outstanding Black Filmmaker.


The committee includes: Wilma Moore Black (CEO, WMB Creative Productions/Publicist to David Parks), Emily Bonavia (Bonavia Properties), Larry Burks Sr (President, Wichita Branch NAACP), Ann Keefer (Interim CEO/President, Wichita Festivals), Lavonta Williams (First Vice Chair, Wichita Branch NAACP), Darryl Kelly (Director of Project Management
Credit Union of America, Friends of the Historic Dunbar Theatre), Mark Quayle (Chief Legal Counsel, Cargill Protein), Justin Rorabough (Director, Wichita State University School of Digital Arts), Alicia Sanchez (Director, Wichita State University Office of Diversity & Inclusion), Holly Dyer (Partner at Foulston Siefkin LLP) and Denise Sherman (Executive Director, The Kansas African American Museum).


The 19th Annual Tallgrass Film Festival has received submissions to the Gordon Parks award category from Canada, Italy, South Africa, and Cameroon along with entries from all across the United States. There is no entry fee for this award category, and the extended deadline closes on July 26th. For details on criteria and to submit your film, please visit the Tallgrass Film Festival on Film Freeway.