Emerging Programmer Apprenticeship

Our 2022 program is now taking applications! Class starts June 4!

What's the EPA?

The Tallgrass Film Association Class of 2022 Emerging Programmer Apprenticeship (EPA), is headed by Education Manager Thane Chastain and Technology Coordinator, Naythan Smith. Candidates for the program range from 8th grade through seniors in high school (exceptions can be made for seniors who graduated in 2021). Age range runs from 13 – 18.

Our 2022 EPAs will have the opportunity to learn from and interact with professionals in the film industry, covering a wide range of topics including: film criticism, directing, producing, screenwriting, audio production, lighting, camera technique, video editing and more.

Along with these interactive classes, our EPAs will be provided hands-on learning opportunities, including:

  • Screening and reviewing more than 125 movies submitted by their peers to the 20th Annual Tallgrass Film Festival (Sept. 28- Oct 2). These reviews will help shape the Joel Fein Emerging Filmmakers Shorts Program at the festival, as the program will be curated with the assistance of our EPAs.
  • Conducting their own internal Film Race.

Successful students will receive an all-access TALLPass in exchange for their participation in the program, as well as an additional all-access pass for a parent or guardian.

Important Dates

The online application open.

Orientation session will be held in May. Students will only need to attend one of the orientation session.


  • Classes will start on June 4th and be held most Saturdays from 2-4 pm through Saturday, August 27.
  • Students selected for the 2022 session will have a good deal of influence over the topics covered each week.
  • Classes will be held at the Tallgrass Film Center (120 East 1st North, Suite 100)

2022 Emerging Programmer Apprentices - more photos coming soon!

Adam Bosworth

Wichita North High School

Hayden Munro

Wichita Northwest High School

Wyatt Carmichael

Wichita East High School

Cahill Jones

Kapaun Mt. Carmel

Stay Updated

Sign up to receive the latest announcements, tips, networking invitations and more.