Filmmakers with Awards at Tallgrass Film Festival

Submit to Tallgrass.

The 20th Annual Tallgrass Film Festival will take place September 28- Oct 2, 2022. Submissions open on January 3rd.

Submit on Film Freeway

Festival Requirements

In addition to showcasing the best of independent cinema from around the globe, including documentary, narrative, world cinema, animation, LGBTIA+, retrospective, and premiering films, the 20th annual Tallgrass Film Festival is specifically seeking films to feature in the following special programs and spotlights:

Gordon Parks Award for Black Excellence in Filmmaking – Feature-length film with no traditional distribution deal at the time of the festival. Open to films of any production budget from any country from any genre with a director that self-identifies as Black, African-American or part of the African-Diaspora.

Vortex Animation, Experimental, and VR short films – This is for all animation, experimental, hybrid or virtual reality projects.

Murmurations – The Murmurations category is open to short and feature films that meet the following requirements: fifty percent of production is based in Spain OR writer, director, or producer is based in Spain; the original voice is in Spanish or one of the co-official languages of Spain (Basque, Catalan, Aranese, and Valencian); and subtitled in English language.

Women Filmmaker Spotlight: Feature films directed by women (Replaces the former DOXX category)

Stubbornly Independent Films: domestic, narrative features made for under $750,000 USD with no traditional distribution

Timothy Gruver Spotlight on Kansas Filmmakers – Kansas filmmakers submit for free – see below for official rules)

Joel Fein Emerging Filmmakers Program – short films from filmmakers (19 and younger) may submit for free – see below for official rules

Tallgrass Film Festival will grant cash awards in the following categories:

  • Stubbornly Independent: $5,000 and one-of-a-kind Tallgrass tap handle
  • Female Filmmaker Spotlight: $5,000 and award
  • Gordon Parks Award for Black Excellence in Filmmaking: $5,000, $15,000 value Panavision Camera Rental and an award.
  • Best Kansas Filmmaker Documentary Short Film: $500
  • Best Kansas Filmmaker Narrative Short Film: $500
  • Best Emerging Documentary and Narrative Short: $500
  • Best Narrative and Documentary Short: $500
  • Best Narrative and Documentary Feature: $500
  • Best Vortex Short: $250
  • Best Murmurations Film: $250
  • Audience Award Winning Documentary & Narrative Feature: $2,500
  • Audience Award-Winning Narrative and Documentary Short: $1000
  • Non-cash special recognition awards include:
    Golden Strands Awards (awarded by Tallgrass Programming Directors) for Outstanding Documentary and Fiction Feature, Acting, and more.
    Best Emerging Filmmaker Short Film

Earlybird Deadline

Standard – $45  Student – $36

Regular Deadline

Standard -$55 | Student – $44

Late Deadline

Standard –  $100 | Student – $80

Extended Deadline

Standard – $130 | Student – $104

Stay Updated

Sign up to receive the latest announcements, tips, networking invitations and more.